Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: dvz's re-intro from Sunny SoCal. RDFL.

Road Devil's Member

dvz's re-intro from Sunny SoCal. RDFL.

Hey Y'all-
    Though I've been with this club since, what, 2004(?), I have been in virtual hibernation for the past few years. Life has piled on, as it is known to do, but I want everyone to know I am among the living, and yes, I am a Road Devil.

Just a quick bio... Way back in '04, I happened to be looking for a certain individual who was said to be a SoCal Road Devil. In tracking him down, I became introduced to and intrigued with the Road Devils. Though I had never pledged with any club, I've been building and driving old tin since around 1976. Former RD Regional Pres Nick Bensen told me of the club and how, due to lack of leadership and participation, the SoCal chapter was no longer. This seemed tragic to me, given the history of the club and Hot Rodding's SoCal roots. Long story short, I talked Nick into giving me one year to stand up the SoCal chapter again. Indeed, my first club event was the 2004 Road Devils-sponsored Rockabilly Rod Reunion at the dragstrip in Las Vegas, and I trailered my 5.13 geared slicks-shod '40 Chevy Gasser Coupe, known as "The Devils' Grocery Getter" to the show. There is a story behind the name, but I will point out the plural possessive apostrophe in Devils' is meant to denote this heap is not ol' Scratch's ride, indeed it is the wheels-up, badass fat-fendered Poncho-powered coupe of the Road Devils car club.